What I Ate Wednesday

To start off, I would like to mention, that today 12 years ago a lot of lives were lost. I will never forget the moment in which my little third grade self found out what was happening. I will forever remember where I was and everything about that event. Four years ago, I had the joy to sing at the church next to where the twin towers stood. The church is now used as a memorial daily, and is absolutely beautiful. Not to mention, it stayed standing through the entire tragedy and housed firemen and injured workers. Being able to be so close, and have a voice while those people were mourning was such a moving experience that will never leave my mind.

Now onto some WIAW excitement! I am truly sorry for my lack of posts lately, but I had to strongly refrain myself from posting this on Sunday night…I knew this dish would make the most wonderful What I Ate Wednesday post!


We had a salon get together on Sunday afternoon to say goodbye to one of our stylists (I am a receptionist at a hair salon).  I was completely baffled at what I should make..I contemplated for days and even 24 hours prior to the event I still hadn’t decided what I was going to make, and then I settled on it. Drum-roll please….A raw vegan, and of course gluten free, cashew cheesecake is what I had decided on. Everyone loved it, even the people who don’t like healthy foods! Everyone at the party was so amazed at the taste and the ingredients, people were asking for the recipe. So here is it!
Screen shot 2013-09-10 at 10.25.03 PM
I found this delicious item on Pinterest, I usually search gluten free recipes! It’s so good I couldn’t not share the recipe with you guys!

Ingredients:

Filling: 4 Cups raw cashews, soaked (Soak in cold water for an hour, and then rinse with cold water before blending), 1 Cup filtered water, 1 Cup raw agave nectar, 1 cup melted coconut oil, 1 Tbsp raw vanilla extract, 2 tsp freshly squeezed lemon juice.

Crust: 2 Cups whole raw pecans, 1/4 Cup chopped pitted soft dates, 1/2 tsp fine sea salt.

Directions!

Filling: In a high powered blender combine the filling ingredients listed above and blend at high speed until smooth and creamy. I recommend getting the cashews blended and then proceeding to add the rest of the ingredients to the blender!

Crust: In a food processor (I don’t have one so I use my blender), pulse pecans, dates, and salt until smooth. Press into bottom of pan, ensuring that there are no gaps.

How to assemble!

Pour filling over crust and freeze for at least 2 hours or until firm in the center. Personally I froze mine overnight. This dessert can be kept in the freezer for up to one month. When ready to serve, set aside to thaw for 15-20 minutes. Can be refrigerator up to a week after being thawed.

I hope you all enjoy this recipe. Some questions of the day for you guys:

Have you ever made something like this?

Would you try this recipe?

How do you think this tastes?

Leave a Reply

